Spirit Awards Presented to Oklahoma Hospital Employees

Fifty-three hospital team members statewide received an Oklahoma Hospital Association (OHA) Spirit of Overcoming Challenge Award during the 2014 OHA Annual Convention Nov. 20. The 53 front-line, behind-the-scenes and administrative employees received the award because they demonstrated a spirit of successfully conquering a unique or persistent problem that may have seemed insurmountable to others in the organization.

Award recipients were chosen by their hospitals for exemplifying the Spirit of Overcoming Challenge by displaying courage to face a challenge head on with great optimism; creatively designing solutions to a problem in order to overcome a challenge to improve patient care; demonstrating a positive, can-do attitude in his or her approach to problems and solutions; volunteering for a unique challenge when others were unwilling or pessimistic; or conquering a major work obstacle with determination and unique intellect.

“We are pleased to honor these special hospital employees who have dedicated time, talent or expertise to improve their organizations and their communities,” said Craig W. Jones, FACHE, president, Oklahoma Hospital Association. “These are the type of team members who, when they see problems, consistently work to solve them.”

Award winners are:
  • Bailey Medical Center, Owasso, Chelsey Deevers-Holloway, surgical services manager
  • The Children’s Center Rehabilitation Hospital, Bethany, Kinsey Charles, RN, CPN, clinical informatics
  • Cleveland Area Hospital, Jaime Merriman, director of training, education and compliance
  • Comanche County Memorial Hospital, Lawton, Lane Hooton, chief operating officer, Cancer
  • Centers of Southwest Oklahoma
  • Creek Nation Community Hospital, Okemah, Sarah Davis, director of nursing
  • Duncan Regional Hospital, Kim McCaleb, director, acute care services
  • Elkview General Hospital, Hobart, Lisa Hart, chief executive officer
  • Grady Memorial Hospital, Chickasha, Brad Warden, infection control nurse/staff educator
  • Great Plains Regional Medical Center, Elk City, Kevin Martin, director, plant operations/environmental services
  • Hillcrest Hospital Cushing, Kym Pierce, infection control/patient educator
  • Holdenville General Hospital, Chrystal Landers, business office manager
  • INTEGRIS Baptist Medical Center, Oklahoma City, Lillian Perryman, administrative director for nursing services
  • INTEGRIS Baptist Regional Health Center, Miami, Gina R. Nava, materials buyer
  • INTEGRIS Bass Baptist Health Center, Enid, Lurena Campbell, activity director, skilled nursing facility
  • INTEGRIS Canadian Valley Hospital, Yukon, Gayle M. Coker, director of cardio/pulmonary
  • INTEGRIS Grove Hospital, Cathy Trewyn, executive assistant to president
  • INTEGRIS Health Edmond, Jonathan Rule, vice president, operations
  • INTEGRIS Southwest Medical Center, Oklahoma City, Robie Harrington, pharmacist, emergency department
  • Jackson County Memorial Hospital, Altus, Shelley Simmons, RN, MSN, nurse manager of medical surgical and pediatrics
  • Jane Phillips Medical Center, Bartlesville, Tilly Labadie, patient satisfaction coordinator
  • Lawton Indian Hospital, Sandra L. Sealey, supervisory health systems specialist
  • McAlester Regional Health Center, Terry Zellmer, payroll manager
  • Mercy Hospital Ada, Lezley Davidson, RN, director of nursing
  • Mercy Hospital Ardmore, Meredith Ladd, director of therapies
  • Mercy Hospital El Reno, Cynthia Laub, supervisor, environmental services
  • Mercy Hospital Healdton, Kayse Owens, quality coordinator/infection control officer
  • Mercy Hospital Kingfisher, Erin Scammahorn, regional manager, physical rehabilitation services
  • Mercy Hospital Logan County, Guthrie, Anita Everett-Acker, senior IT business partner
  • Mercy Hospital Oklahoma City, Betty Sadler Brooks, exercise technician
  • Mercy Hospital Tishomingo, Laura Walgren, physician’s assistant
  • Mercy Hospital Watonga, Kelli Spencer, director of nursing
  • Midwest Regional Medical Center, Midwest City, Michele Bradshaw, director of quality & regulatory
  • Muskogee (Creek) Nation Medical Center, Okmulgee, Nathaniel Hill, social worker
  • Muskogee (Creek) Nation Physical Rehabilitation, Okmulgee, Debbie Brill, patient services representative
  • Norman Regional Health System, Mike Bumgarner, chaplain
  • Northeastern Health System, Tahlequah, Donna Richard, human resources assistant
  • Okeene Municipal Hospital, Emily Poe, RN, nursing
  • OU Medical Center Edmond, Anita LeDoux, director, birth center
  • Perry Memorial Hospital, Becky Hammock, patient access representative
  • Physicians’ Hospital in Anadarko, Beverly Garrison, infection preventionist
  • Ponca City Medical Center, Marci Langston, director, surgery and central supply
  • Sequoyah Memorial Hospital, Sallisaw, Beth Fair, director of medical imaging
  • St. Anthony Hospital, Oklahoma City, Diane Gassett, division director, behavioral medicine, St. Anthony South
  • St. Anthony Shawnee Hospital, Christy Benard, RN, director of women’s services
  • St. John Medical Center, Tulsa, Sandra Walker, RN, director, outpatient services
  • St. John Broken Arrow, Letha “Lavonne” Thomas, RN, team leader
  • St. John Owasso, Melissa Kelly, nursing manager
  • St. John Sapulpa, Deborah Dutton, quality accreditation specialist
  • St. Mary’s Regional Medical Center, Enid, Malinda Isbell, RN, BSN, director, Birthplace
  • Stillwater Medical Center, Leva Swim, director of strategic planning
  • Tulsa Spine & Specialty Hospital, Elizabeth Sparks, quality assurance/performance improvement director
  • Wagoner Community Hospital, Brandy Moore, case manager/infection control coordinator
  • Weatherford Regional Hospital, Stephanie Helton, chief financial officer
Established in 1919, the Oklahoma Hospital Association represents more than 150 hospitals and health care entities across the state of Oklahoma. OHA’s primary objective is to promote the welfare of the public by leading and assisting its members in the provision of better health care and services for all people.